Skip to content
Malta BudgetGuide

Budget 2027 · Chapter 6

Maritime & port infrastructure

Port investments, shore power, pleasure-craft fees and cruise charges are separate commitments with different scopes and delivery stages.

Pinto 4/5, Lascaris and Birżebbuġa projects

Printed p. 59 names continuing extensions at Pinto 4 and 5 and Lascaris, and work on the Birżebbuġa slipway and berm. It also lists Msida Creek among infrastructure works. No individual project budgets or completion dates are stated for these projects. Msida Creek belongs to the broader transport/infrastructure programme, not a new vessel tax.

Budget 2027AnnouncedInvestment project

Pinto 4/5 and Lascaris extensions

Extensions at Pinto 4 and 5 and Lascaris are named among infrastructure projects continuing in 2027.

Infrastructure / capacity—not a cash benefit.

Speech printed p. 59 · PDF p. 63

Budget 2027AnnouncedInvestment project

Birżebbuġa slipway and berm

Work continues on the Birżebbuġa boat slipway and berm project.

Infrastructure / capacity—not a cash benefit.

Speech printed p. 59 · PDF p. 63

Budget 2027AnnouncedInvestment project

Msida Creek infrastructure project

The Msida Creek project is among the major infrastructure projects continuing in 2027.

Infrastructure / capacity—not a cash benefit.

Speech printed p. 59 · PDF p. 63

Grand Harbour shore supply: end-2028 plan

Shore supply in the southern Grand Harbour and Lascaris is planned to complete by the end of 2028. That date applies to the shore-supply project; it must not be copied onto every port extension or slipway. The speech does not provide a project-specific amount in this passage.

Budget 2027AnnouncedInvestment project

Grand Harbour south and Lascaris shore supply

Shore supply in the southern Grand Harbour and Lascaris is planned for completion by the end of 2028.

Planned completion by end 2028

Infrastructure / capacity—not a cash benefit.

Speech printed p. 59 · PDF p. 63

Boat owners, cruise visitors and Gozo passengers

The separate fiscal chapter announces additional annual pleasure-craft fees for 10–24 metre boats, with professional fishers and boats below 10 metres exempt. Cruise visitor charges concern disembarking and re-embarking passengers, not passengers starting their cruise in Malta. Gozo fares are a different transport measure; these charges do not constitute a single maritime levy.

Budget 2027AnnouncedBudget measure

Annual registration fees for pleasure craft

Additional annual registration fees from €300 to €2,600 apply to boats between 10 and 24 metres.

€300 to €2,600 per year

Speech printed p. 33 · PDF p. 37

Budget 2027AnnouncedBudget measure

Cruise visitor charge 2027

Cruise visitors who disembark and re-embark in Malta pay a €10 charge. Passengers who begin their cruise in Malta are excluded.

€10 per visitor

Speech printed p. 26 · PDF p. 30

Budget 2027AnnouncedBudget measure

Gozo Channel fares for non-residents

Non-resident adults pay €11 (was €4.65), children €7 (was €1.15) and a car with driver €22 (was €15.70).

Adult €11; child €7; car + driver €22

Speech printed p. 31 · PDF p. 35

Project delivery and missing information

Budgets and dates not stated in the speech remain unfilled. Capacity figures describe planned facilities, not cash entitlements.

Msida Creek infrastructure project

Project continues during 2027Completion: Not stated

Pinto 4/5 and Lascaris extensions

Extension projects continue in 2027Completion: Not stated

Grand Harbour south and Lascaris shore supply

Shore-supply project continuing; completion planned by end 2028Completion: End of 2028 (planned)

Birżebbuġa slipway and berm

Slipway and berm project continuesCompletion: Not stated

Questions and source checks

Are all port projects due to finish by end 2028?
No. The stated end-2028 completion plan belongs to southern Grand Harbour/Lascaris shore supply. Other dates are not stated.
Does the tracker show confirmed final project costs?
Only amounts stated in the speech are shown. Unpublished budgets remain marked not stated; the tracker is not a certified expenditure account.
  • Diskors tal-Budget 2027, Ministry for Finance (Malta), 2026-10-26. Printed p. 59 (PDF p. 63)